Editors & Staff

Adam Wiedewitsch co-founded the international association of writers and artists, The Pirogue Collective, and co-edited the anthology Imagine Africa and The Rule of Barbarism, poems by Abdellatif Laâbi. He has received fellowships from the Gorée Institute (Senegal), the Eva Tas Foundation (Holland), DAAD (Berlin), The Millay Colony (New York) and The Ledig House International Writers Residency (New York); his poetry has been published in Carapace (South Africa), New Contrast (South Africa), and Azul Press (Holland).

Colin Cheney‘s collection of poems, Here Be Monsters (University of Georgia, 2010), was selected for the National Poetry Series. His poems have appeared in American Poetry Review, Poetry, Ploughshares, Kenyon Review, Crazyhorse,and Gulf Coast. He has received a Ruth Lilly Fellowship and a Pushcart Prize.  He lives in Bangkok, Thailand.

R.A. Villanueva is the author of Reliquaria, winner of the 2013 Prairie Schooner Book Prize; he is also the winner of the 2013 Ninth Letter Literary Award for poetry. His writing has appeared in AGNI, Virginia Quarterly Review, McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, DIAGRAM, Bellevue Literary Review, and elsewhere. He lives in Brooklyn.

Janine Joseph’s poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Kenyon Review Online, La Fovea, Best New Poets 2011, Asian American Literary Review, Hayden’s Ferry Review, and elsewhere. She wrote a commissioned libretto, entitled “From My Mother’s Mother,” for the Houston Grand Opera’s “Song of Houston: East + West” series. A Contributing Editor to Tongue, she is a Ph.D. candidate in literature and creative writing at the University of Houston.

Ishion Hutchinson was born in Port Antonio, Jamaica. His first collection, Far District, won the PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award. A Contributing Editor to Tongue, he is an assistant professor of English at Cornell University.


Identity & Design

Print design and layout by Stewart Cauley. Logo and identity developed by Juliette Cezzar. This site is built upon the iA³ framework.

Tongue is a proud member of the Council of Literary Magazines and Presses.